Being Inspired on Vacation

Posted on Updated on

DCIM100SPORT

I am presently vacationing in the beautiful island of Mauritius, where I was born. Being retired, I can now afford to escape the harsh winter in Ottawa, Canada to chill in this tropical island in the Indian Ocean.

My favourite chilling place in the Caudan waterfront in the capital city, Port Louis. I feel inspired to write as I look across the busy harbour on this rainy day. The tug boats are criss-crossing the calm waters. People are rushing to work around 8:45am. And I think to myself, what can I write that may be somewhat inspiring to others right now.

First, nothing comes to mind. Then the rain falls down more heavily, as if to wake my mind up. Suddenly, I ask myself this question: what really matters to me at this moment. Here I am, thousands of miles from my wife and children in a beautiful tropical island thinking about them with a smile on my face. I am sending loving thoughts and intentions to them across the oceans and the skies.

I am enjoying the company of my brother, sisters, relatives and friends who are here. I am indulging in eating my childhood food and swimming in the ocean at my favourite beaches. I am meeting with interesting people while marketing my books, and conducting a few workshops and seminars. Yet, when it comes down to it, what is really important to me is my own family.

I am not home-sick or anything like that. I am not going to leave everything and rush back to wintery Ottawa to be with my family. I don’t even feel guilty enjoying the tropical and rainy weather here. It’s just nice to know that I think of them lovingly all the time and wish the very best for them, and knowing that’s reciprocal.

I hope this will inspire you to think of what is really important to you in your “busyness” of life while you rush to work or whatever you are doing.

I will be holding 2  Become Your Best  LIVE WORK SHOPS here in Mauritius, I would love to connect and help you find what is truly important to you.

Please follow me on Twitter for daily motivation and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

